

Date: March 1, 2019

## Outstanding Emergency Medicine Resident of the Year Award to Be Presented at Ohio ACEP Emergency Medicine Assembly to Kaitlin M. Bowers, DO

Columbus, OH—The Ohio Chapter of the American College of Emergency Physicians, (Ohio ACEP) is pleased to announce that the recipient of the 2019 *Outstanding Emergency Medicine Resident of the Year Award* is **Kaitlin M. Bowers, DO**, an exceptional resident physician, mentor, and academician.

The Outstanding Emergency Medicine Resident of the Year Award was established to recognize a resident of outstanding merit who exhibits exemplary clinical promise, leadership, and commitment to their patients and emergency medicine.



Kaitlin M. Bowers, DO 2019 Outstanding Emergency Medicine Resident of the Year

Dr. Kaitlin Bowers, a third-year resident at OhioHealth-Doctors Hospital Emergency Medicine Residency, epitomizes the qualities this award was created to celebrate. She regularly demonstrates an unyielding dedication to education, excellence in clinical work, and quality patient care. Dr. Bowers has quickly gained the trust and respect of her teammates, colleagues, and faculty, who know they can rely on her high technical skills and expertise to manage a busy emergency department and supervise junior residents and interns.

Dr. Bowers is Chief Resident at OhioHealth-Doctors Hospital EM Residency and is active with the program's medical education track and on multiple hospital committees. She is also active at the national level, having served as the President of the American College of Osteopathic Emergency Physicians (ACOEP) Resident Student Organization. She has worked extensively with Emergency Medicine Residents' Association (EMRA) as well, where she developed educational airway simulation models in addition to serving as the EMRA Board of Directors' Liaison to ACOEP.

In his letter nominating Dr. Bowers for Outstanding EM Resident of the Year, Dr. John Casey (Associate Residency Program Director at OhioHealth-Doctors Hospital Emergency Medicine Residency) praised her as an "amazing resident physician, well respected by her peers, nursing colleagues, students, and faculty." Dr. Casey says she "demonstrates the very best we expect from a leader" and, despite her many responsibilities and commitments, never falters in her high-quality care and dedication to teaching medical students and other residents.

The Outstanding Emergency Medicine Resident of the Year Award will be presented to Dr. Bowers on March 20, 2019, at the Ohio ACEP Emergency Medicine Assembly. Ohio ACEP congratulates Dr. Kaitlin Bowers for her well-deserved accolade!

## ###

Ohio ACEP is a state medical specialty society representing emergency medicine physicians with more than 1,500 members. For more than 40 years, Ohio ACEP has served the state's emergency physicians through tireless advocacy, nationally recognized continuing medical education, and physician leadership development.

Further information: Justin Spicer, 614-582-0770, jspicer@ohacep.org.